and then . . .

by tobymarx

something unexpected happens to inject some pure, undiluted joy into my life.

Leonardo-&-me_Noir-City-9-

Leonardo and me at the Noir City 9 opening party. (Photo by Mike Humbert)

Last week my friend Mike Humbert drove all the way to San Francisco from Paradise, California to take me to the opening of Noir City 9 at the Castro Theater. Before the show we met with festival director Eddie Muller, “the voice of Noir” Bill Arney, and a handful of others at Dashiell Hammett’s old Post Street apartment, which is being lovingly restored by Robert Anderson. Altogether a completely delightful evening, one I’ll remember for a long time to come.

Peter-Field-&-me_Noir-City-9-

Friend and fellow historian Peter Field and me at Noir City 9. (Photo by Mike Humbert)

